Copyright 

I found WIPO to be very informative of the methods used to protect different forms of IP. It even explained that many of these methods may be combined in some countries. The Creative Commons website explained various licenses that allow people to share work under certain conditions. Unlike WIPO, CC seemed more focused on improving and sharing ideas to inspire creativity rather than creating restrictions that force people to come up with new ideas. 

I am choosing to license my work for this course under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International. This is for the reason that I found it to be similar to the GNU General Public License. Both these licenses give others the freedom to redistribute, change, and use a work for commercial use as long as those using that work also respect the same freedoms of those using their copy of the work.

 

2 thoughts on “Copyright 

  1. Thank you for your input! your comment on my own post got me thinking about the issue of choosing a CC for myself. Your choice of copy write parameters seems the sensible choice for a blog as my own interest is simply in keeping my words free from some perverse form of manipulation for profit. Not that I imagine my words to ever be profitable, but it does seems a sensible precaution. Good post and I look forwards to reading more of your posts this semester.

    Like

  2. I definitely think that the Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International is the way to go with this type of work. I’m not planning on making a profit so why make it harder than it has to be if someone wants to use my stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

